A Holiday from Writing is Sometimes Needed

After a few days doing nothing but resting and reading, I’m feeling great!  Having time out to recharge the batteries without feeling guilty was fantastic, and I now feel ready to get back to the empty page.  In fact, I feel energised about my project in a way I haven’t felt for a few weeks. 

It’s probably going to sound obvious, but when you’re mentally exhausted, you can’t write no matter how hard you try.  The harder you push yourself, the worse the situation gets.  What I’ve learned from this is that when I take a holiday in future, instead of rushing to my writing desk to get another chapter done, I’ll be quarantining the first 50% at least to relaxing instead.  If it makes the writing easier, it’s worth it!

Now, perhaps I should do that on weekends too…

Leave a Reply

