Happy Easter

I’ve been so looking forward to Easter this year.  I’ve been exhausted, and the break will do me a lot of good.  For this reason, my writing goal is modest.  I’m aiming to write a thousand words a day over three days, with one day completely away from the writing desk.

 As writers, we need to look after ourselves, particularly if we have a full-time job as well.  A break from the day job often means an opportunity to write, but we need to be careful not to sacrifice rest.  If you’re tired, you can’t write with passion, so what’s the point?

 We also need to listen to our bodies.  There have recently been a spate of writers blogging about injuries that prevent them from writing.  If you’re in pain, you can’t write full stop. 

 So I hope all you writers out there have a lovely Easter, filled with time with family and friends.  I wish you lots of relaxation, and that you will come back to the writing desk next week refreshed.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. janettedalgliesh
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 12:48:35

    Thank you for the lovely reminder to rest! I’m doing just that today, puttering about with guest blogs from Graham S and downloading some juicy-sounding e-books. But mostly I, too, am using Easter to rest and recuperate. Bliss!

    Reply

    • J-A Brock
      Apr 04, 2010 @ 19:37:13

      Caught the Graham S guest post, and I agree with the very nice comments he made about you! How nice to have a guest blogger like that.

      Reply

  2. Graham Storrs
    Apr 02, 2010 @ 15:37:14

    As Wordsworth said, writing is about “emotion recollected in tranquillity.”

    I intend to have three days off, starting tomorrow – and not even write!

    Reply

    • J-A Brock
      Apr 04, 2010 @ 19:38:05

      To be honest, I’ve been doing more resting than writing, and the two pages I have done are better as a result, I reckon!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

