A Good Solution is a Two-Edged Sword

Now this is interesting.

In working on what my main ‘push’ was going to be for the last 20,000 words of my work in progress, I finally came up with a great idea that will tie everything together.  Trouble is, it’s such a strong theme that I could have written the whole book with it.  Now I’m wondering if I should go back and write it in.

Don’t you just hate that?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jo Anderton
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 20:40:07

    Oh, that’s always a tough question… do you think it will require significant re-writing from the beginning? Would you save yourself extra work if you go back and start now, instead of writing all the way to the end and then writing the new theme in later?

    Reply

  2. janettedalgliesh
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 10:59:00

    Hm.

    I bet if you look carefully, that theme is already lurking in what you’ve written, just under the surface, injected by your clever subconscious mind. If so, could it be brought into the light a bit more, perhaps, rather than requiring a major rewrite?

    Reply

    • J-A Brock
      Mar 26, 2010 @ 22:02:38

      I considered what you said Janette, and I think you might be right. I realised that if I develop what’s already there, it will fix what’s not quite working at the moment. I’ll have a stronger book and a total rewrite isn’t necessary. It’s probably there, and has been waiting to come out.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

