I’m struggling with voice!

A couple of posts back, I blogged about voice, and now I’m struggling with the voice of my own work!  Don’t you just hate that?

I’m not exactly sure what the problem is, except that despite point of view changes, the narration all sounds the same.  It’s also choppy and lacks depth. 

Until yesterday, I had no idea what to do about it, but while drifting off to sleep last night I had an ‘a ha!’.  I’ve decided that when writing the second draft, I’m going to work with one point of view first from the beginning of their narration to the end before moving on to another point of view.  Now that I’ve got the story down, I don’t need to keep things like timelines in mind and I don’t have to write in order. 

Working on one point of view will help me to develop that character’s voice and to deepen the narration until it flows.  How do I know it’ll work?  I don’t, but when I thought of it I got that buzz in your belly that tells you you’re on the right track. 

Fingers crossed!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Graham Storrs
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 08:22:39

    That sounds like a great idea, and one I haven’t seen anywhere else, either. Great material for when you do the book of the blog.

    🙂

    Reply

  2. Janette
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 09:47:01

    Ooh, good plan! Let us know how it goes, won’t you? If it works, I shall be pinching it with abandon, LOL

    Reply

  3. Janette
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 09:48:00

    Of course I mean – let us know how YOUR EXPERIENCE of it goes – does it relieve the stress and make the flow better? Does it make for work you are happier with? Does it make the process more fun?

    🙂

    Reply

  4. terry
    Feb 12, 2010 @ 14:50:20

    I feel your pain. Recently I decided I had too many voices in a novel and decided to reduce it to just two strong ones. Boy, did I lose some words.
    On the upside, I had a great depth of backstory for each of my main characters.

    Swings and roundabouts, J-A, swings and roundabouts.

    terry

    Reply

  5. Alexis Grant
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 07:12:41

    Voice is always a toughie. But I don’t think it comes through for many writers on the first draft. Sometimes it’s not one of those things that comes naturally — it has to be worked in during revision. Once the first draft is there, it’s easier to work with the words to find that voice. Keep us posted!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

