2nd Draft Update

I’m finding a lot of things to fix up in this second draft, I must say.  On the one hand, that’s a good thing, because it makes me feel like I know my craft.  On the other hand, it’s daunting, because there’s so much to fix I think I might need an extra draft to make the writing beautiful.  That’s what I’m aiming for – not just good writing, but really gut-wrenching make-you-howl-when-something-bad-happens-to-the-protagonist writing. 

Things that I’ve found to fix up so far include:

  • characters dropping in or out
  • point of view imbalances
  • scenes not going anywhere obviously meaningful for the plot
  • events dropped in without any background or transition
  • reordering of chapters, events or scenes

These are all major re-writing areas, not just a nice bit of copy editing.  It looks like the second draft will be closer to a new novel than a fixed up one.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jo A
    Jan 15, 2010 @ 11:51:53

    My 2nd drafts are always like that. I have come to accept it. 🙂

    It’s nice that you’re going through the same thing as I am though. Makes me feel like I’m not the only crazy… ah… very busy person around!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

