Taking Action!

Well, 2010 is nearly here, and I have been doing some planning.  I’m not one for New Year’s resolutions, but I do think about what areas of my life I want to focus on during the year ahead.  In the last couple of days, I’ve also written a Writing Action Plan, as suggested in Kelly L Stone‘s book on writing, Time to Write (the link for this doesn’t seem to want to work – check it out at http://www.kellylstone.com). 

This is a plan that articulates my overall writing goal for 2010 (to get my manuscript to a publisher) and identifies the actions and timeframes needed to achieve it.  I’m planning to keep track of my progress (or lack thereof) on a regular basis throughout the year and will adjust timeframes accordingly to ensure things are achievable but not too easy.  I’m not much of a planner in life generally, so if I don’t get something down on paper, I’ll just drift along and things take twice as long as they need to.

My writing self is certainly a planner, and feels most comfortable knowing where I’m going.  It’s funny how my writing self seems to operate in a totally different way from my life self.  I wonder why that is?  Perhaps my life self could do with a little planning too!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. janettedalgliesh
    Dec 31, 2009 @ 06:25:16

    Interesting – I too have discovered I’m more of a planner than I’d thought. Many years ago I was a great writer of lists, then someone told me that limited my thinking so I tried going without. Still got as much done, just felt more stressed about it!!

    Perhaps 2010 will be my Year of the List! LOL. I’m impressed that you’ve done your 2010 Writing Action Plan. Today is the last day of 2009, and guess what I’ve managed to procrastinate about until now… 😉

    Reply

    • J-A Brock
      Dec 31, 2009 @ 13:14:16

      I know what you mean, Janette, about feeling more stressed without a plan. That was one of the things that held me back when I used to free-fall – the constant panic that my work wasn’t going anywhere.

      I can also relate to the difficulty in the social network, Graham. I’m still struggling with twitter!

      Reply

  2. Graham Storrs
    Dec 31, 2009 @ 08:35:17

    Hi J-A. I don’t usually plan my life (I’ve got a wife for that!) but at the beginning of 2009 I did do a list of objectives for my writing, along with actions I’d need to take to meet them and measures I could take to monitor my progress. I’ve reviewed them quarterly since then and they have, surprisingly, been useful. Their main value has been to focus me on the kinds of things I would normally let slip because they’re hard or unpleasant – like building up a social network.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Accountability in 2010 « Janette Dalgliesh

Leave a Reply

