Sometimes, one has to wonder …

The universe moves in mysterious ways, and if you ignore it, it’ll come back and smack you on the backside good and hard. 

After finishing the first draft of my book a little while back, I’ve been trying to redraft it rather than taking a good break from it.  I knew it probably wasn’t a good idea, but persisted anyway.  So it seemed like fate when I developed yet another tummy bug that prevented even the idea of sitting at a computer screen to enter my head without making me feel very sick.  It was a sign, I think.  I should have a break, at least until the holidays.

Trouble is, I really miss writing.  It’s odd getting up on Saturday morning and not having anything to do.  What else am I, if not a writer?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janette
    Dec 19, 2009 @ 13:52:36

    Ouch!! Yes, you’re right about this phenomenon- except in my view it’s not the Universe smacking you, so much as the Universe trying to remind you about something you already knew. Yes?

    Ah, if I had a dollar for every time I’ve ignored my own instinct… but I digress…

    Next time, maybe have something else standing by ready to write when you need to put that break in place. How about a short story set in your novel world but featuring some minor character? Or something completely different like a flash fiction piece in a completely different genre, suitable for a magazine? Might as well do something you can sell, LOL!

    The other option is what Joy Detman says she does. While your draft is ‘percolating’, go and grab a box-full of assorted books from the secondhand shop and use them to vacuum your brain.

    Reply

    • J-A Brock
      Dec 19, 2009 @ 14:29:47

      good suggestions, janette, particularly the vacuuming of the brain – could certainly do with a bit of that!

      Reply

  2. Graham Storrs
    Dec 20, 2009 @ 13:08:13

    J-A I think I just wrote about an extreme case of this on my blog! It must be two years nearly since I thought I’d finished that story.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

