Sorting out Point of View in the Heat

Due to the heat, I took it easy on myself and set an easy task.  I looked at whether the point of view chapters of my book balanced out.  I have written a summary of the chapter/scene on post-it notes, a different colour for each, and have stuck them around the wall.  This is an idea I got from a blog post by an author called Kaye Dacus that flashed up on the WordPress suggested posts thing. 

It’s a very long line!  Quite satisfying.  I’m also a bit awestruck – did all that really come from my head?

Have also discovered a disadvantage to this technique.  Some of the post-it notes keep falling off the wall!  There had to be a drawback, didn’t there?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cassandra Jade
    Nov 21, 2009 @ 18:06:07

    Maybe try a bulletin board and pin things to the wall – either that or line the post its along the edge of a desk. Still, a good organisational idea.

    Reply

  2. Graham Storrs
    Nov 22, 2009 @ 13:41:16

    I guess you’re stuck with the technology until you can run Scrivener on a Mac with a 4 metre screen.

    Reply

  3. janettedalgliesh
    Nov 22, 2009 @ 15:28:13

    Huh. I was loving Scrivener on my 11″ MacBook, now Graham has made me realise how inadequate that is. OMG, life-size index cards, whooo!

    This is a great exercise to do, J-A! The current WIP is the first time I’ve set out to do POV from two characters only, both limited third person. Some scenes occur when they are separate, and those scenes are obviously single POV throughout. And in those scenes where they interact, I’m having so much fun controlling the switch of POV without doing the old ‘head-hopping’ thing.

    I’ve used the above-mentioned Scrivener in planning to try and keep the POV balanced. Keep finding I want to tell her story more than his. Hmm….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

