The 2nd Draft isn’t always a 2nd Draft…

… or at least that’s what I’ve found.  This is because I see where I need to stuff and have to start writing.  That is, I see where I need an extra chapter to balance out point of view or where I need to work in more of a transition or resolution.  This is all first draft.  So in actual fact, it’s not a 2nd draft until I’ve gone over all of these bits and pieces (which won’t be done til the end, as I like to finish it before going back over things). 

So really, this is a 1st and a half draft!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Graham Storrs
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 20:24:20

    We should name drafts like software versions. Novel 0.3, Novel 0.7, etc. all precede the first draft, Novel 1.0. Then we’d all know exactly where we stood. Agents could specify “no drafts below 4.0”, and publishers “no drafts below 6.0”. Beta readers would expect something in the 1.0 to 1.9 range, perhaps. Reviewers could expect ARCs at 8.0 and above.

    Reply

  2. janettedalgliesh
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 21:13:55

    I like draft-and-a-half, makes me think chocolate. Mmmm. Sweet and good. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

