2nd draft blues

Hmm.  Having read over some of my manuscript, I can see that there’s a lot to do.  I have to keep reminding myself that I knew this would happen.  My aim was to get the first draft out without worrying about craft.  And some of it’s OK.  Or will be, after I’ve worked it over.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jo A
    Nov 04, 2009 @ 19:16:54

    I hear ya. We can work through 2nd draft blues together 🙂

    Reply

    • J-A Brock
      Nov 05, 2009 @ 18:51:11

      hehehe. hey, maybe we could swap ideas of how to go about the 2nd draft? like where we start first, what we aim for, what’s a decent 2nd draft, etc.

      Reply

  2. Graham Storrs
    Nov 04, 2009 @ 19:35:47

    Strangely enough, I find that the longer I wait between finishing the first draft and re-reading the manuscript, the better it seems to me. I reckon if I left it for enough years, I’d never write again since it would seem so brilliant, I’d know I could never better it 😉

    Seriously though, a couple of months on a hard-drive works wonders for a first draft.

    Reply

    • J-A Brock
      Nov 05, 2009 @ 18:50:10

      Graham, I think you’re right – if only because by the time the 1st draft is done, I’m sick of the sight of it! It’s not that I don’t like my story etc, it’s that I’ve had enough and need a good break.

      Reply

  3. cassandrajade
    Nov 04, 2009 @ 20:01:26

    Sometimes I think you have to just write and leave worrying about how it sounds until later. I used to endlessly rewrite opening pages and never finish any actual writing until I mastered the art of not reading what I had just written. The critic in me will always find the problems with my work and want to rewrite, but that doesn’t help finalise a project. Once I have a full draft, I can then worry about all those pesky problems (whether they be grammatical or otherwise). Nice to know others go through the same drama.

    Reply

    • J-A Brock
      Nov 05, 2009 @ 18:48:33

      Thanks for your comment cassandra! Things really changed for me when I learnt to leave the editing to the end, I agree. Suddenly, it was possible to get through a major project. Bit daunting to have all that editing to do at the end, though. Oh well – only one thing for it – start at the beginning and work through it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

