2nd Draft, Here I Come!

I’ve had a lovely 3 weeks’ break from my manuscript, and I’m now ready to tackle the second draft.  I’m a bit nervous, to be honest with you.  I don’t want to read it and realise how bad it is!  Worse – I don’t want to read it, realise how bad it is and NOT KNOW HOW TO FIX IT!

It’s all very nervewracking.  Where does one start?  I think I’ll start with mapping out the point of view for each chapter, so I can see where I need to add more of one viewpoint or cut back on another.  Amazing how just developing that plan settles my tumtum!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jo A
    Oct 21, 2009 @ 20:49:01

    Oh fantastic! Looking forward to hearing how it goes 🙂

    Reply

  2. Graham Storrs
    Oct 21, 2009 @ 20:59:01

    Hehehe – All writers have OCD. If we don’t have that MS under control, the world ends. (That’s a scientific fact.)

    I think I’ve found the answer. Write children’s books. I wrote one the other day and it was a piece of cake. 2000 words start to finish. I did it in one day, edited 10% out of it the next day and sent it to my beta readers (wife and daughter). I could do a hundred and fifty of these a year and be rich!

    (Only kidding. Now I’ve got the thing, I haven’t a clue what to do with it! And it probably doesn’t fit the right age group. But it was very stress free,)

    Reply

  3. janettedalgliesh
    Oct 22, 2009 @ 14:20:35

    w00t!!

    Reply

  4. J-A Brock
    Oct 22, 2009 @ 19:02:02

    thanks guys!

    graham, wonderful about the children’s book. have a look at ‘omnibus’ press, to see if they’re accepting.

    Reply

  5. terry
    Oct 23, 2009 @ 20:50:31

    Now just cut that out! You can write, dammit! I’ve read your stuff and it’s great. Get into that editing, slice and dice but remember – you’re a real writer! Complete with honest to God talent.
    Right, back to it, go on….
    terry

    Reply

Leave a Reply

