Trying something new

I managed to make the treck to a sci fi and fantasy convention recently.  While I normally head straight for the fantasy stuff, this time I decided to have a look at the science fiction stream.  I’m very glad I did.  I don’t know that I’ll start writing sci fi any time soon, but it made me look at my own writing differently, and I realised that there are aspects to my writing that fit with sci fi.  Maybe it’s not such an insurmountable leap for me to go there.

I also walked away with my first book by Julie Czerneda.  She was an interesting speaker, and her take on science roped me in!

So if you find yourself regularly going for your comfort zone, I encourage you to venture out every now and then.  You don’t have to go too far, and it might give you a different perspective on things.

Leave a comment