Jazzing things up

OK.  I’ve decided I need to jazz things up a bit.   Sometimes the drive to go forward gets a bit old and the writing starts to feel like it’s moving ahead but not really capturing anything.  This might be dealt with in redrafting, but I’ve decided to have a go at doing something different now.

So today, I changed my routine.  I changed my writing time and my writing location.  It seemed to work – I feel like I got a lot more done and went deeper than I have been lately. 

And next weekend, I’m taking a couple of days off and am going to spend every one of those days writing.  That means working on assignments until then to free up my writing time for my own work only.  I’m also setting myself a target of 1000 words a day, but this will be maintained for 10 days straight so that I have 10000 words at the end of it.  It will also hopefully mean that I get deeper into the work rather than skimming across the surface.

Wish me luck!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emma Newman
    May 28, 2009 @ 06:29:22

    Have a huge dollop of good luck from me! Sounds like a great plan.

    You asked about tips over at my place… I was wondering if you had a particular topic in mind, or was it tips about the one line pitch thing? I’d love to help, but I am far from expert!

    Reply

    • J-A Brock
      May 29, 2009 @ 14:36:37

      thanks! the one line pitch (and pitching in general). my efforts in this area have not been very good, apparently!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

