Overload

I’ve just had a week of difficult juggling my day job, my studies and my writing.  Let’s call it ‘overload’.  It’s not that I didn’t have time for all of them, it’s more that I was thinking about everything all the time and got a bit over always having to do something with my free time.  Whenever I get like that, I find that I’ll put something off (usually my assignments!) and then I get stressed about being behind.  This just makes the whole thing worse.

Times like this usually last about a week or so for me, and I’m perplexed as to why they happen.  What gets me past overload is having a day or two off, then allocating small lots of time and being strict with myself about committing to my given task.  Actually, that’s not quite true.  What gets me past overload is putting butt in seat and getting some creative work done!

But I’m curious about other strategies that people use in this situation.  Dare I hope that there is an easier way that I haven’t discovered yet, or am I fooling myself?  If you have any thoughts to share, would love to hear from you.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Graham Storrs
    May 17, 2009 @ 14:17:47

    J-A, Have you come across Paperback Jack yet? (Real name Jason Weaver.) He writes pieces meant to help writers get through difficult periods of various sorts and he’s been writing lately about ‘immersion’ and ‘procrastination’ and ways of fixing his attention. If you go to his blog, have a look through the past couple of weeks’ worth of posts.

    http://paperbackjack.net/

    As for me, I tend to let things slip then, when they can’t slip any farther, work like a demon until I’ve cleared the backlog! I don’t do any work these days that I don’t want to do (except household stuff). When I used to do paid work for a living, it drove me mad that my head was always full of other people’s problems all the time and I had almost no room for my own creative work. Retirement has helped enormously!

    Reply

    • J-A Brock
      May 18, 2009 @ 19:21:54

      thanks, graham, i’ll check paperback jack out. i can relate to what you say – nothing like a deadline to sort things out! i like being busy, keeps things moving at least.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

