Once upon a time …

On the one hand, writing gives structure and meaning.  When I go to bed on a Friday night, I can’t wait to have two whole days when I can write to my heart’s content.  I’m a ‘planner’, so I know what I’ll be writing about and I’ll usually have written a bit in my writing journal about what I want the next scene to do.  I like having something to head for, so when people ask me ‘did you have a nice weekend’ I generally say ‘yes, it was fantastic, I got another blah words done’.

On the other hand, I miss being able to have a whole day to just read a book without feeling guilty that I’m not working.  That would be nice.  I vaguely remember life being like that, but really, it’s so long ago that I can’t tell if it really was or if I’m idealising things.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Graham Storrs
    May 11, 2009 @ 09:53:38

    I know just what you mean, J-A. Reading is something I squeeze in between the cracks of other things these days.

    On the other hand, that may not be so bad – I haven’t read much that I’ve really, really enjoyed for years. (Right now I’m reading Perdido Street Station by China Mieville – on Jeremy’s recommendation – and it sucks mightily. And I had been really looking forward to it!)

    Reply

    • J-A Brock
      May 12, 2009 @ 20:48:40

      don’t let jeremy hear you say that! maybe the issue is which genre you like and what kind of sub-genre. do you think it would suit a fantasy writer?

      Reply

      • Graham Storrs
        May 12, 2009 @ 20:58:51

        Probably, if they like *endless* descriptions of different, decaying suburbs and characters that are essentially a parade of freaks, all set in a *relentlessly* dismal steampunk-cum-magical fantasy world.

        Obviously Jeremy liked it – a lot! And so did loads of other people.

        Maybe it’s just me…

Leave a Reply

