Why I write

A couple of years ago, I found myself at a crisis point.  After a series of ‘right’  decisions that had turned out wrong, I ended up flat on my backside wondering who I was and who I wanted to be.  I worried that when I grew old, I’d look back on my life with regret that I hadn’t done something that filled me up.  I’d always wanted to be someone creative, but didn’t think that I actually was. 

 

At the same time, I had 25,000 words of a manuscript that somehow seemed to tap in to the very restlessness that I felt.  Over the next few months, while I was battling with my own inner demons, I pulled the manuscript out and began working on it. 

 

It wasn’t easy.  I didn’t have a lot of time to commit to it, but I chipped away at it, keeping it in my mind as something I had to finish.  As it grew, it built up its own momentum.  As I read more about how other writers write, I played around and learnt more about how I write, and eventually, I finished the whole thing. 

 

In working to produce that manuscript, I seemed to find something that grounded me.  Instead of being a peripheral activity, writing is now the centre of my personal life, deeply important to me.  Now when I’m old, I’ll have answers to my questions.  Even if I don’t get published, I will have spent my life crafting stories, and that’s more than I dreamed.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. janettedalgliesh
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 00:10:12

    go girl – answering those creative urges is SO important!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

