A bit about this blog

 

I’m an emerging Australian Speculative Fiction writer with a passion for stories and the craft of writing in general.  I write Fantasy, and am currently writing my second book. 

 

I’m interested in psychology, history and archaeology, and these interests inform my work.  I’m also passionate about the craft of writing and love exchanging tips on writing with other writers.  When you’re starting out, there’s so much to learn that it can be daunting.  There have been some very generous writers who have helped me, and I’d like to ‘return the favour’. 

 

The other thing is, writing is a hard slog, especially when you write tomes of 100,000 words or more.  Sometimes it’s hard to remember why you’re in this gig – until you hear from other writers!  The encouragement you get from those who are going through the same ups and downs that you are is worth water in a desert.  The more you get, the more inspired you are to keep at it. 

 

Hence this blog.  It’s to remind me and other emerging writers of why we do this.  I hope you find it useful.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Graham Storrs
    Mar 15, 2009 @ 10:40:31

    Hi J-A and welcome to the blogsphere. This looks nice and simple. Personally, I’m such an old cyber-jade that my own blog is all a-twitch with widgets and what-nots. And I keep adding more!

    I’ve just added the link to your blog.

    The sad thing is, I find all this blogging rewarding. I hope you enjoy the experience. If not, you could switch to tweeting on Twitter, which at least is less time-consuming – unless you do both, like I do, then it’s not 😦

    You should be able to get my blog address from the link on this comment, but, to be sure, here it is in plain: http://grahamstorrs.cantalibre.com/

    Reply

  2. Darcy
    Mar 15, 2009 @ 15:58:37

    Welcome to WordPress. It’s always great to see another writer paying it forward. Good luck with your work!

    Reply

  3. Luke
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 00:20:47

    Hey J-A

    Blog looks great, and great to see you making the foray into the wonderful world of e-writing. Keep up the good work!

    Luke

    Reply

  4. andronicus
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 08:26:01

    Hi J-A,
    Thanks for sharing your experiences and also the writing tips. I’m a beginner myself and appreciated your comments.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

