My Short Story is Growing

I’ve been working on a short story lately, which I’ve been enjoying although I’ve also found it challenging.  One of the challenges I’m facing is how much story to put in a short story.  At the moment, I’m about three quarters through my original story plan and I’m around 6500 words.  When I look up short story competitions in the newsletter of my local Writer’s Centre, they’re generally about 2000 to 3000 words.  Clearly, mine doesn’t fit into that market.

Referring to a writer’s marketplace reference book shows that some magazines and journals have a much lower word limit (under 1000), but others have up to 10,000.  This sits more comfortably with my story.

Now, when I consider how this story is going, I can see opportunities for a more complex plot that will round out my characters and make for a more satisfying read.  This will add more words, of course, perhaps bumping it up into the region of a ‘novella’.  Is there a market for that?  A quick internet search says yes!  Particularly on the e-publishing side of things.

Now, you are no doubt wondering why I’m writing a story without knowing if there’s a market out there or not.  Is it worth putting time and effort into something I may not be able to sell at the end of it?  Well, this is about me stretching myself and developing craft, so no matter what happens I’ll be growing as a writer.  I’ll get experience, and the act of finishing something and submitting will inspire me to move on to the next project.

And that’s the life of the writer – one foot in front of the other.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. literateworm
    Apr 16, 2012 @ 21:33:47

    I hope your story goes well, sounds like it may end up a novel rather than a novella at the rate you’re going. When I say that I definitely don’t mean it as a bad thing. Good luck :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

