The Challenge of Writing for Entertainment

This writing for entertainment is fun, although challenging.  I’m finding it difficult to disengage my ‘deep and meaningful’ tendencies from getting the words onto the page.  Just as I think I’ve got the hang of it, I find myself slipping into worrying about what ‘higher truth’ my story will hold.  Once that happens, I start to doubt everything, from my craft to whether anyone will truly be interested in this story.  Next thing you know, I’m bogged.

I won’t call this ‘writer’s block’, because I refuse to experience that.  I think writer’s block happens to me when I break my ‘just keep writing’ rule.  It usually happens because I’m not using the magic words ‘work in transition’ or ‘insert a bit in here about…’.  These are my writing fail-safes, and they work every time.

There is a school of thought that if you’re not passionate about your writing, the reader will know.  I used to think this meant you needed to have something important to say, but in this world where we’re challenged so much by things beyond our control, entertainment and escapism have become important survival mechanisms (when used in moderation).  So I’m finding the older I get, the more passionate I’m becoming about fun.  It requires reworking old habits of thought, but it’s also freeing.

So I’m going to keep going with this, even though it’s taking me a long time and my masterpiece is waiting.  I think it will make me a better writer in the long run, and that’s what keeps me going when I have a crisis of faith in what I’m doing.

Just needed to remind myself!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Graham Storrs
    Mar 11, 2012 @ 15:20:09

    Hi J-A, I know what you mean. I recently read Stephen King’s “On Writing” and was surprised to hear him say he went back and retrofitted the “theme” of each book as he finished it. What? They have themes? I asked myself. But of course they do. So do mine, however entertaining they get ;-) And you just can’t help saying serious things in a book – unless you really have got nothing to say.

    Reply

    • J-A Brocke
      Mar 15, 2012 @ 07:25:08

      I guess it’s about not letting those ‘self-editing’ thoughts crowd out the producing of the words. It’s challenging to work against something you’ve been trained to do since primary school, but it’s worth getting the hang of.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

